Midnight Reflections

Midnight Reflections

This is our second album, and our first seasonal release! As usual, Tom Kopchak is on piano with Russell Uhl on violin. Unlike our first album, Random Acts of Music, we began this time with some well-known Christmas tunes, and then used our improvisational skills to create something new.

Midnight Reflections is a new way of listening to your traditional Christmas favorites. Grab a blanket, pour yourself some hot chocolate, take a seat by the fireplace, and let Acts of Music take away your worries on the cold winter night.

Track Title Length Preview
1 O Come O Come Emmanuel 7:42
2 Away in a Manger 4:19
3 Pachelbel's Canon 12:57
4 The First Noel 6:33
5 God Rest Ye Merry Gentlemen 6:37
6 Angels We Have Heard On High 7:08
7 Silent Night 6:16


In 2012, we released our debut album, Random Acts of Music - a purely improvisational blending of the violin and piano showcasing our unique musical tastes and stylings. We soon decided that our next album should be something different - once again stretching the imagination, but now drawing from the familiar. What could be more traditional than a Christmas album, with timeless, beloved songs that we all have experienced for our entire lifetimes - but with a fresh improvisational twist? Out of that gem of an idea, our new album - Midnight Reflections - was born.

This album breaks from our normal style of music. Rather than creating a pure improv, our music is based off of familiar Christmas songs you have certainly heard before. We use these familiar melodies as a baseline for our improv, which then create new and exciting harmonies that may not otherwise be considered by an existing score. With this as a backdrop, we are able to provide you with another unique experience. So sit back, relax, and enjoy Christmas the Acts of Music way: with Midnight Reflections